Surviving the Storm

9 Feb

If you live in the North East corner of the states, you are probably still huddled in your house, hopefully with power, eating the remnants of your emergency snacks. We had a good old fashion blizzard last night and there is over two feet of snow covering the ground outside. When I get over being bitter I have been stranded in a stranger’s house for almost 24 hours, I can at least be thankful I am warm, cuddled under blankets to watch a “Game of Thrones” marathon, and able to look out the window and see the beauty in the mess.

I don’t remember the last time I saw this much snow on the ground. It makes me thankful I’m moving to the desert even more than before. It also makes me long for the days when this made me excited instead of cranky. When a fresh layer of snow meant sledding and snowmen, instead of shovels and scraping off my car. I don’t even remember the last time I owned snow pants. There is something to be said about the hardiness of NElanders though. We know how to survive and we have a sense of community based on a shared misery.

I finally escaped shortly after starting this post and made it home to my own apartment. I think the thing that impresses me the most is the resilience of the human race. Not just because of the snow, but because of who we are as a whole. We conquer the nastiness of the world on a daily basis and still manage to find a smile even when the tempest is raging at our doors. We can face the storm (literal and figurative), survive, and find a way to enjoy it when we put our minds to it and I love that more than anything. That is where my positivity comes from. That is the reason I have faith in the world around me. It’s exhilarating and affirming, and makes it impossible for me to give up on the human race.

I feel like there was a lot more I wanted to say but I’d rather go make another blanket fort and spend the night watching movies with my bottle of wine.

Leave a Reply

