Landmark Reflections

25 Mar

I am a little late in doing this, but the beginning of the month was my one year anniversary in moving to Arizona. I wanted to reflect now that things are mostly stable and I have a handful of experience.

Things I still miss:

  • My family
  • Friends which slowly seem to be losing touch
  • Boston nights (especially Saint Pattie’s Day)
  • The subway
  • Living in Salem, a city full of history
  • Dog walking believe it or not (I keep stalking their Facebook page to check up on some of the pups)
  • Knowing how to get around without thinking
  • The ocean
  • Wider range of job opportunities

Things I would not trade for anything:

  • Finally having an adult apartment
  • Michigan
  • Pool season practically year-round
  • Sunshine sunshine sunshine
  • Minimal precipitation
  • Logical city design so even when I do get lost it is not that hard to figure it out
  • Living with my best friend
  • New friends
  • New adventures and new places to explore

Life changes whether you want it to or not, that is not up to us. I may miss a lot of things and my heart may ache some days, but the likelihood is that that would have happened eventually. We can either be a passive traveler, letting the winds shift us from one place to the next, or we can take an active role and set sail (caution: cheesy metaphor). Either way, we move forward and I would rather have some say in where I end up, I am stubborn like that.

Leave a Reply

